Friday, Mar 24th

Last update:11:21:12 PM GMT

Lenoir County Public Schools: About LCPS middle schools Williams, Younger honored by school district's EOP group

Williams, Younger honored by school district's EOP group

E-mail Print PDF

Two people long associated with Lenoir County Public Schools are the newest honorees of the Lenoir County Schools Association of Education Office Professionals.

Superintendent Brent Williams was named Administrator of the Year and Teresa Younger, secretary/bookkeeper at Contentnea-Savannah K-8 School, was recognized as Education Office Professional of the Year for 2016 during the LCSAEOP annual Administrator of the Year luncheon Friday, May 20.

Each has worked in multiple positions for LCPS for more than 20 years.

In her letter of support for Younger’s nomination, CSS principal Amy Jones wrote, “She is an indispensible member of our office team. She brightens everyone’s day with her positive attitude and sunny disposition. She anticipates issues before they arise and proactively corrects those issues before they become problems.”

Active in the community, in her church and in the EOP, Younger has chaired and served on several county- and district-level committees with the organization. She holds a Professional Certificate from the North Carolina Association of Education Office Professionals.

Williams, who was named superintendent in March after a little more than two months as interim superintendent, is known for his membership in and active support of EOP and encouragement of the group’s projects.

A former award-winning teacher and principal with the school district, he previously served as associate superintendent and as executive director of operations.

“He has developed many relationships that have given him a unique understanding, insight and love for the students of Lenoir County,” Sharron James-Bizzell, a co-worker of Williams’ and chair of the awards committee, said in announcing the honor.

Also announced at the luncheon were winners of the four scholarships provided LCPS seniors by the organization.

They are Haley West of South Lenoir High School, Brianna Radford of North Lenoir High School, Danielle Metts of Kinston High School and LaRachel Sutton of Lenoir County Early College High School. Haley will continue her education at Lenoir Community College; Brianna, at East Carolina University; Danielle, at North Carolina Central University; and LaRachel, at UNC-Greensboro.

As local winners, Williams and Younger are nominated for EOP District 12 awards. As the overall scholarship winner, Haley West will compete for a district-level scholarship.

Installed as LCSAEOP officers for 2016-2017 were: Michelle Sutton, South Lenoir High, president; Lori Bryant, Central Office, vice president; Denise Griffin, Transportation, secretary; and Esther Hines, Early College, treasurer.