Friday, Mar 24th

Last update:11:21:12 PM GMT

Lenoir County Public Schools: About LCPS middle schools Woodington's Battle of Books win its second in three years

Woodington's Battle of Books win its second in three years

E-mail Print PDF

A team of young scholars from Woodington Middle School jumped out to a commanding early lead and never looked back en route to victory Wednesday in the annual LCPS Middle School Battle of the Books.

Woodington went undefeated in six contests – head-to-head matches with the district’s three other middle schools – to win its second county title in three years. With the win, the team advances to the regional Battle of the Books competition in April.bob_logo

Each year, the Battle of the Books tests students’ knowledge of books from a common reading list of 27 fiction and nonfiction titles through questions related to content. This year’s reading list included the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel “To Kill a Mockingbird” and “I Am Malala,” the autobiography of Malala Yousafzai, the Pakistani girl who defied the Taliban and won the Nobel Peace Prize.

Teams competed in a round-robin format. After the first round, Woodington held a 20-point lead over its closest competition, the team from E.B. Frink Middle School. Woodington stretched its lead to more than 40 points by the end of the contest. Frink finished in second place; Rochelle Middle, in third; and Contentnea-Savannah K-8 School, in fourth.

The event was held at Teachers Memorial School and Training Facility. Ryan Gardner, science department head at South Lenoir High School, was moderator.

Members of the Woodington team are: Eli Aycock, Jason Nilon, Amedith Stroud, Sydney McLawhorn, Kalista Ciccarelli, Avery Rouse, Nathan Carlyle, Isabelle Vernon, David Phillippe, Drew Hedrick, Gracie Howard, Fernando Flores and coaches Jean Whaley and Sherry Williams.

Members of the Frink team were: Victoria Flores, Diana Leon-Lara, Jada Clark, Kamryn Sutton, Erica Croom, Cintja Cordova, Heidy Alvarez, Kaitlyn Minder, Keyonna Taylor, Cristina Aguilar, Amanda Glen and coaches Joanna Price and Beverly Jones.

Members of the Rochelle team were: Alando Coleman, Nazier McIver, Lovell Gooding, Jakyra Simmons, Jai'Len Strickland, Elijah Powell, Janiya Edwards, Tinya Blake, Nicholas Harvey, III, Shanauria Hassell, Mariela Salgado-Villa, assistant coach Nadine Grady and coach Brenda Moultrie.

Members of the Contentnea-Savannah team were Genesis Campos, Sara Jones, Katara Fisher, Kristen Williams, Jared Carlyle and Coach Traci Banks.

The Woodington team is pictured below. Team photos are on the district Facebook page here.